How complex can you make the Music system?

SuperOwenSuperOwen Member Posts: 3
Hi! I'm brand new to GameSalad and I'm wondering about what I can do with the audio within the game - mainly, how complex you can make the music system? Are there any limitations when it comes to wanting to create complex music-based games?

The games I'll be wanting to make will be platformers with music at their core. When the player walks over pick-ups, coins, etc. can I bring in a melody line that is in time with the music? Can I add different effects such as reverb or a lowpass filter when I go into like a cave or underwater?

Kind of a big question I know, but any help would be much appreciated!
Cheers!

Comments

• LeonardDeveloperLeonardDeveloper Member Posts: 4,630
    As complex as you want just as long as it doesnt take up too much ram and make you game slow
  • LeonardDeveloperLeonardDeveloper Member Posts: 4,630
    edited December 2011
    You can add effects put when a actor jumps over a barrel you can certainly change the tune
  • CloudsClouds Member Posts: 1,599
    @SuperOwen

There are no built in effects, you would need to bounce off a clean version + a version with reverb for the caves and a LP filter for the underwater parts.
  • SuperOwenSuperOwen Member Posts: 3
    Awesome, thanks for the info guys! So will I be able to bring in those other bounced versions on the fly? Would I be able to make it so when I go underwater the reverb bounce comes in and when I jump out it transitions nicely back into the original? What about the timed sound effects?
    The timed sound effects are possible - GS is polyphonic as are the platforms it runs on - and it has a timer built in (to several decimal places) so if you know your BPM you can have an attribute that forces the effects to only play at certain points (ie: you can make it quantize where you can play the audio).

Sounds complex, but it's not really once you know the logic.