How to Make Animations in Gamesalad

jblb2424jblb2424 Member Posts: 65
Hey Guys :D I'm new to Gamesalad and I'm well on my way to creating my first game, except i have one problem. I am up to the point where i have to start making animations. I have no experience with making animations at all and there are nearly no tutorials or forum threads I've found that were helpful. Would anyone tell me the proper steps in making a quality animation or post a link to a tutorial online that would help me make one? Thanks! :D By the way the animations i need are run, jump, and shooting arrows with a bow :)

Comments

• JohnPapiomitisJohnPapiomitis Member Posts: 6,256
    you make the animations in whatever art program you want, export each frame of the animation as a seperate png, then put them in a animate behavior

cheers

• jblb2424jblb2424 Member Posts: 65
    Thanks, would you know any of the art programs out there that i can use?
  • CloudsClouds Member Posts: 1,599
    "Thanks, would you know any of the art programs out there that i can use?"

Cinema4D
    Photoshop
    Gimp
    Shake
    Softimage
    Motion
    LightWave3D
    3DS
    DAZ
    Poseur
    Swift 3D
    Illustrator
    Adobe Flash
    Kinemac
    Blender
    Adobe After Effects
    Bryce
    Houdini
    Maya
    Pen & paper + scanner

. . . . etc etc

• jblb2424jblb2424 Member Posts: 65
    wow, i didn't know there were so many programs to choose from, thanks so much :D
  • SpriteAttackSpriteAttack Member Posts: 524
    edited January 2012
    I would suggest going with something a little easier and less expensive than 3DS, Houdini, Maya, Cinema4D or AfterEffects - unless you are in for a steep learning curve and deep pockets.

My advice would be to start with inkscape - free and rather versatile http://inkscape.org/ - read the tutorial posted here or in my blog
    http://2dgameartforprogrammers.blogspot.com/
    (this post covers animation)