Wow... What a Year!

jdgouldjdgould Member, PRO Posts: 114

First off, I need to thank the GameSalad team and everyone here in the GameSalad forum, I would have never been able to accomplish my goal of creating an App business without your support. A special thank you must go out to tshirtbooth, DeepBlueApps, GS Chef’s, Braydon_SFX, and other folks at GS Helper for all of the wisdom, templates and training you provide.

My name is Jeff Gould, I have been creating Apps for about two years now. Over the last couple of years I have had a lot of ups and downs as I tried to figure out how to turn this hobby into a business. When I first started out I was always getting frustrated with my results, the lack of downloads and the little money I made. I would make an app, and then just Publish it in every App Store I could find that would accept it (Sound familiar)?

Over the last 12 months, I experimenting with all types of stuff to try and get more downloads and make more money.

To try and get more downloads I tried:

• Changing Descriptions
  • Changing App Names
  • Changing Keywords
  • Using Different types of Screenshots
  • Free Apps, Paid Apps, Free with IAP, Convert Free to Paid, Convert Paid to Free, etc...
  • Press Releases
  • Universal Builds, Native Builds
  • Translations
  • Frequent updates
  • Cross Promotions
  • Networking
  • Integrating Social Media
  • Review Sites
  • Etc...

To try and make more money I tried:

• Affiliates
  • Banner Ads - iAds, Mobclix, Playhaven
  • Free Apps with in App Purchases
  • Free Apps pointing to Paid Apps
  • Interstitial Ads, Mini Popup Ads
  • Outsource and recreate existing apps to experiment with other monetization options
  • In Game Currency
  • Mini Apps within a bigger App
  • Changing my Start Page or Play Page Around
  • More Button, More Games Button
  • Etc...