Universal Binary Rule Works In Landscape And Portrait For All Resolutions

colandercolander Member Posts: 1,610
edited October 2014 in Working with GS (Mac)

I started playing around with a UB for Overscan some time ago and have gone back to it again and have come up with a fairly simple rule which can go in each actor. There are also six attributes, four are preset in the Attribute panel and the other two are set when the app loads. Currently those two are in the on screen actor but can be moved to an off screen actor for loading at start up.

The code will work in any resolution in landscape and portrait. For example if you choose iPhone landscape for your project it will place and resize actors in all the other resolutions in both landscape and portrait. I have attached three projects "UB 5 iPad Landscape", "UB 5 iPad Portrait" and "UB 5 Mac Book Landscape" to demonstrate this and they all have the same code. You only need to set four game level attributes in the Attribute panel in your project. The two less obvious ones of them are;

rOrigRatioX = your projects width/height
rOrigRatioY = your projects height/width

This is not a magic bullet no UB is or can be you will still need to design your game with a universal binary in mind. You can see this when you run the projects. Overscan works by magnification from the centre point in all directions and stops when it fills the screen. This means that two edges on one of the axes (X or Y) are off the screen. The rule works by plotting the X and Y positions from the centre. For example if the edges on the X axis are off the screen it will reposition the actors on the X axis and adjust their height and width and not effect the position of the actor on the Y axis. The greater the difference in the original aspect ratio and the aspect ratio of the target device the greater the effect on the actors size. You can really see this when you preview a landscape project in portrait and vice versa.