My app icons suck.

My app store icons are always an afterthought, and I hack them together last. Thing is, I'm no artist. Where are you goes getting your icons, and do you have any tips?

Comments

• tatiangtatiang Member, Sous Chef, PRO, Senior Sous-Chef Posts: 11,949

You might consider hiring someone to make an app icon for you. They aren't terribly expensive compared to say graphics for a whole game and there are plenty of talented graphic artists among our forum members.

New to GameSalad? (FAQs)   |   Tutorials   |   Templates   |   Greenleaf Games   |   Educator & Certified GameSalad User

• http_gamesaladhttp_gamesalad Member Posts: 1,340

I make my own icons they're not the best of the best. But what I do is sit down for like an hour or 2 & think of something simple that's not to jumbled that gets to the point & explains what my app is about. Just google search app icons & splash screens & get your inspiration from there. That's how I came up with my splash screen which I love! Trust me its best for you to do things on your own you get much more from it! You learn from your mistakes..!

• ChunkypixelsChunkypixels Member Posts: 1,114

@metamet‌

I think your basically answering your own question in your opening sentence. If you treat your app icon as an afterthought and just "hack" them together at the end, then regardless of your artistic skills, they're probably always going to be a bit hit and miss.

Plan your icon earlier. Put more thought and effort into it. It's the main visual reference for people to identify your app amongst thousands of others. It's one of the key factors of getting your app noticed... So really shouldn't just be left as a last minute chore.

And if you really can't spend time on it... Then like Tatiang suggested, hire someone to do it for you.

• metametmetamet Member, PRO Posts: 80

@tatiang‌ @‌chunkypixels Yeah, I definitely need to hire out. What is a reasonable budget for just the icons, usually? Just for frame of reference.