GameSalad

Howdy, Stranger!

It looks like you're new here. If you want to get involved, click one of these buttons!

iTunes Connect errors

Village IdiotVillage Idiot Posts: 486Member, PRO
edited October 2016 in Working with GS (Mac)

Hi. I'm currently going around in circles trying to upload my game through iTunes Connect. The first version that I did was rejected by Apple because " In-App Purchase products have not been submitted for review." I'm not sure what they mean by this because I thought that I did all of that. Am I right in saying that it should be done through Application Loader?

They also said that I had to submit a new Binary. Does that mean republish my game through GS, sign it as part of the process etc? Because that's what I've done. This is now giving me this error message in Application Loader: "No .app bundles found in the package".

I'm putting the .app file produced by GS into a folder called Payload, zipping it and then renaming it to the name of my game and changing .app to .ipa. I've also tried just .zip, and without putting it into a folder. None of the above combinations is working. I'm signing it with APPSTORE at the moment but have tried ADHOC and DEV too with the same result. Everything I read online suggests that it's a signing issue – but if it doesn't work with any of the 3 that are on offer what else can I do?

Apple mentioned that I had to submit a new binary – this doesn't include generating new certificates, does it?

PLEASE, can someone help? I've been at this for weeks. I've been trying to get this game of mine up for the last few months now and am losing my mind.

Comments

  • Village IdiotVillage Idiot Posts: 486Member, PRO

    Pleeeasssseeee help!

  • Village IdiotVillage Idiot Posts: 486Member, PRO

    Anyone???

  • Village IdiotVillage Idiot Posts: 486Member, PRO
    edited October 2016

    surely someone has an idea of what I can do??

  • UncloudedStudioUncloudedStudio NetherlandsPosts: 285Member
    edited October 2016

    @monkeyboy simian

    To add IAP in iTunes Connect go to your app > features > In app purchases > and click on the + icon to setup your IAP. (see screenshot below)

    -IMPORTANT- Don't forget this step
    When you are finished with setting up your IAP go to App Store > Waiting for upload > click on the + icon and add the IAP you've created in the previous step. (see screenshot below)

    When you publish via the GS portal just click on the publish button and the .ipa will be automatically created, no need for zipping files or changing the .app file. (see screenshot below)

    Hope this helps!

  • JapsterJapster Posts: 661Member
    edited October 2016

    I've been trying to think about it mate - don't you have to submit IAP's with a new binary? - have you done this? - ie. created the app, possibly uploaded a binary, created some IAP's, selected that you have IAP's within the binary/app submission, then submitted a new binary with IAP code/IAP's present?

    Im afraid I found it a nightmare too, but it was a loooong time ago with my Catflap game, so a little rusty... :frowning:

    PS - I'm guessing you do realise if you just select 'Publish' as the last signing step in GS, it packages it up for you in a valid file, ready to select it from within Application Loader?...

  • UncloudedStudioUncloudedStudio NetherlandsPosts: 285Member

    Apple mentioned that I had to submit a new binary – this doesn't include generating new certificates, does it?

    No, if it's setup correctly you do not have to do this again.

  • Village IdiotVillage Idiot Posts: 486Member, PRO
    edited October 2016

    Thanks @Japster
    When you say "possibly uploaded a binary" – what do you mean exactly by that? Just to clarify.

    PS - I'm guessing you do realise if you just select 'Publish' as the last signing step in GS, it packages it up for you in a valid file, ready to select it from within Application Loader?...

    I thought that I had to zip it and then change the suffix to .ipa

    My steps have been: make the game in GS. Hit publish. Hit Generate. Hit sign. Zip it etc. It worked the first time. Then the rejection by Apple. Now the waking nightmare.

    Thanks also to @UncloudedStudio – I'm glad you've given me reassurance re the whole signing thing – at least that's one thing that I can take off the list as possible causes. I did add the IAP (only 1 - ads off) in iTunes Connect, so this also weirds me out.

    What I don't understand is how it can say that there are no app bundles in the package when I know I published it and processed it?? How can this be??

  • UncloudedStudioUncloudedStudio NetherlandsPosts: 285Member
    edited October 2016

    @monkeyboy simian Is it possible you are using MacOS Sierra?

    http://stackoverflow.com/questions/37838487/error-itms-90167-no-app-bundles-found-in-the-package

    Seems Sierra is causing problems

  • Village IdiotVillage Idiot Posts: 486Member, PRO

    yes

  • UncloudedStudioUncloudedStudio NetherlandsPosts: 285Member

    It's very likely that this is causing for problems.

  • Village IdiotVillage Idiot Posts: 486Member, PRO

    dammit.. I actually saw that same thread during my googlings.. I was hoping that it wasn't across the board. So according to the thread, if you're actually foolishly up to date with Apple – you're stuffed, right?

  • UncloudedStudioUncloudedStudio NetherlandsPosts: 285Member

    Seems like it :(

  • Village IdiotVillage Idiot Posts: 486Member, PRO

    So if I'm seeing this right in my tiny mind.. any developer, commercial, big time or try hard (like myself), can't actually upload to iTunes Connect at the moment if they're using up to date Apple software???

  • ToqueToque Posts: 1,172Member

    If this is true GS should have a note of it somewhere.

  • Village IdiotVillage Idiot Posts: 486Member, PRO

    This is major if this is across the board.

  • Village IdiotVillage Idiot Posts: 486Member, PRO

    This wouldn't happen if Steve was alive.

  • UncloudedStudioUncloudedStudio NetherlandsPosts: 285Member
    edited October 2016

    @monkeyboy simian

    You have to use the version of Application Loader that comes with Xcode 8, which should be 3.6 it may fix the issue

    To do that, use the Application Loader available within Xcode. Standalone version of the Application Loader is not working. Open Xcode and go to Xcode->Open Developer Tool->Application Loader

  • UncloudedStudioUncloudedStudio NetherlandsPosts: 285Member

    @monkeyboy simian Let me know if this worked

  • Village IdiotVillage Idiot Posts: 486Member, PRO
    edited October 2016

    @UncloudedStudio It worked!!! Thank all the deities for that! – and of course you! I have to declare that my mistake – not checking to see if I had the latest version of Xcode. I guess I was complacent, thinking that if a new version was available that I'd be prompted.. noooo... no prompting. Lesson learned.

  • UncloudedStudioUncloudedStudio NetherlandsPosts: 285Member

    @monkeyboy simian Great, glad to hear that it worked!

Sign In or Register to comment.