State of GameSalad on 6/30/2015...

Comments

• http_gamesaladhttp_gamesalad Member Posts: 1,340
    edited July 2015

I was shocked to learn that gamesalad Beta is free anymore. In all honestly from what I read 15 days is way to short for someone who's brand new to coding (like I was). When I started it took me at least 3 months (that includes countless & constant hours of playing around with the system, asking on the forums & watching multiple youtube videos to get a very basic understanding of how the whole the system worked.) It took me also about 3 months to make my first game (which wasn't the great but hey its was my first game).. in total it took me about 6 months of constant (give or take) to really get an idea of what I'm doing.

My personal opinion is that 15 days is way to short to get an idea of if this is something you want to peruse financially. I know for a fact that if I just started coding & I only had 15 days to learn what I know now (which took me about 1 year & 4 months & I have much more to learn) I would have never told my dad to spend $300/yr on a pro, $100/yr on IOS Dev, $25/yr on Google Play Dev, buying a $800 Macbook just for solely coding, & another $500 getting a real company established (which is still in the works). You also have to take in count that gamesalad also applies to teens with not one bit of coding knowledge (like I was). It's summer time now which gives teens a lot of time to really do what they like (for me is making apps) but when school starts up again they have school, extra curricular activities, & also homework. When I'm done with all that I'm lucky if I get an hour to work on my game at 11 pm at night before I have to go to bed & wake up at 6 AM. & this being my last year before I go to college I know I'll be way to busy to even code once day because, I'll be to focused on my SAT tests. I found gamesalad by googling "How to make apps" & this by far is one of best systems for coding because if I was forced xcode would