The Big Picture - August 2010 - Wait for it... Wait for it...

Comments

• amigoniamigoni Member Posts: 78
    I have been fully concentrating on switching over to Corona for the past week and a half. I have no previous experience in coding whatsoever. I can't really say that it has been a walk in the park. It's very very challenging and I have two degrees in Engineering. I think I have a pretty good grasp on it now but I still think that I am about a week away from replicating what I have in Game Salad.

It seems that Corona is significantly faster than Xcode or other methods, but it is still programming and with it, you still have to learn event based programming and object oriented programming on top of the normal syntax.

What I am noticing on top of that is that there are many many things that I just took for granted that Game Salad just offers right out of the box.

Overall, I would say that if you have no major gripes in your game with performance and crashing and if you don't mind having the GS logo when the app start and you can live without openfeint or gamecenter for the next month or so. Stay with GS. It's well worth it and an amazing product.

The amazing thing about GS is that once you learn the basics you can just have an idea and in a few days draft it out. It's like a turbo boost on your creative process. Spending time with coding instead can be frustrating and can kill that creative process.

On the other hand, if you want to have advanced features and have lots of patience I think It's worth it to go to Corona or something else.
  • iDeveloperiDeveloper Member Posts: 441
    @giacomopoppi:

Over two months is unprofessional. If they can't get it done, then sell GS to Apple. I was once happy with previous updates, but now it's getting ridiculous. Two months is way too long.
  • giacomopoppigiacomopoppi Member, PRO Posts: 914